Château
Pomeaux

POMEROL

BORDEAUX

Bordeaux is France’s largest and most important wine region. Many of the world’s greatest connoisseurs and wine critics consider Bordeaux’s leading wines to be the finest and most prestigious wines in the world. 

Bordeaux’s combination of climate, soil, grape varietals, and advantageous location creates ideal conditions for producing and distributing fine wines. Abundant sunshine, adequate but moderate rainfall, and the proximity to the Atlantic Ocean provide a highly favorable Maritime climate for the Bordeaux region.  On the western or left bank of the Garonne River and Gironde estuary, where the soils are predominantly calcium-rich limestone and gravel, Cabernet Sauvignon is the ascendant varietal.  On the eastern or right bank, where the soils are primarily clay and gravel, Merlot Noir dominates. 

Bordeaux is located at the confluence of the Dordogne and Garonne Rivers and their tributaries. These waterways combine to form the Gironde estuary as it flows into the Atlantic Ocean and facilitate the transportation and distribution of Bordeaux’s wines both within France and throughout the world.

Wine production in the Bordeaux region dates to the ancient Romans, who began to cultivate grapes and produce red wine in the area they called Burdigala in the 1st Century B.C.  Bordeaux wine production and exports grew markedly over the next two millennia, increasing dramatically beginning in the 12th Century A.D. when Eleanor of Aquitaine (the name by which present-day Bordeaux was then known) married Henry Plantagenet, the future king of England, and wine began to be exported.  Over the following centuries, Bordeaux became a large and important city and a leading exporter of fine wines.

POMEROL

Pomerol is a wine-growing commune and Appelation d’origine controlee (AOC) located on the eastern or right bank of the Garonne River in Bordeaux.  Pomerol is the smallest of Bordeaux’s important fine wine regions, covering an area of only approximately three kilometers by four kilometers. Pomerol has 800 hectares of vines under cultivation, with an average annual combined production of 35,000 hectoliters by 140 declared producers. The soils of Pomerol are a mixture of gravel, sand, and clay, with deposits of iron known as crasse de fer in its subsoils. These conditions are ideal for the plantation and cultivation of Merlot Noir, which constitutes 80% of all grapes grown in Pomerol.  The remainder of Pomerol’s vines is comprised of Cabernet Franc and a small amount of Cabernet Sauvignon.

Only red wine is produced in Pomerol.  Harvest yields are limited to a maximum of 42 hectoliters per hectare (≈ 2.2 tons per acre) and finished wines must contain a minimum alcohol level of 10.5%. Pomerol is the home of some of the most highly-praised and expensive wines in the world.  Many believe that Pomerol is the most prestigious of the Bordeaux appellations and produces the world’s finest wines.  The wines of Pomerol are characterized by their deep color, velvety texture, and concentrated ripe-plum flavors, and do not exhibit the high acidity and tannins that are typical of many other Bordeaux wines. Pomerol wines often display truffle, chocolate, cedar, roasted nut, spice, and raisin notes.

CASTLE POMEAUX

Chateau Pomeaux consists of 2.2+ hectares of prime vineyards, a beautiful and charming chateau, and a world-class winery located in a magnificent situation in Pomerol. Chateau Pomeaux’s vines, which are 100% Merlot Noir, average 45 years of age.  Chateau Pomeaux’s soil is a combination of gravel, clay, and ferruginous sand with iron-pan and clay in the subsoil. Chateau Pomeaux’s vineyards are maintained in a meticulous manner, its grapes are grown and harvested using an optimum combination of traditional and modern techniques, and its wines are vinified and aged to achieve the highest quality possible.

Chateau Pomeaux is located on the southeastern slope of the Pomerol plateau, near the border of the communes of Pomerol and St. Emilion.  Some of the world’s finest wine properties are neighbors of Chateau Pomeaux, whose vineyards are located approximately two kilometers from Chateau Petrus, one kilometer from Chateau Le Pin and Vieux Chateau Certan, and one-half kilometer from Chateau Cheval Blanc and Chateau Figeac.

Chateau Pomeaux’s dedication to ultimate quality begins in its vineyards. Only the best varieties of Merlot Noir grapes are planted at Chateau Pomeaux. Chateau Pomeaux employs rigorous double guyot pruning, green harvests, late picking to ensure optimum maturity, meticulous hand picking, and careful selection. For more than two decades, Chateau Pomeaux’s grapes and wines have been biodynamically and organically cultivated and produced.  Chateau Pomeaux’s vineyard yields are strictly controlled to ensure its wines are made from only the highest quality grapes.

Although harvest yields of a maximum of 42 hectoliters per hectare are permitted in Pomerol, Chateau Pomeaux’s yields are strictly controlled to an average of only 30 hectoliters per hectare.

A unique combination of traditional winemaking and modern equipment is used in Chateau Pomeaux’s winemaking.  After grapes are harvested, they are carefully sorted, destemmed, and rigidly selected. Grapes that are selected for Chateau Pomeaux wines are then subjected to temperature-controlled maceration and fermentation in large oak tanks, lengthy periods of malolactic fermentation in small new oak barrels, scrupulous vinification, and extended aging in new oak barrels.

The combination of magnificent terroir and the decision of Chateau Pomeaux’s owner to sacrifice quantity for exceptional quality results in wines of supreme character and elegance.

Chateau Pomeaux produces extraordinarily rich and robust wines with elegant balance and a delicate and marvellous bouquet. Chateau Pomeaux’s wines are powerful and rich, bursting with black cherry and plum flavours.  They develop truffle, chocolate, and cedar notes over time. They can be enjoyably consumed when they are young and will benefit further from extended aging.  Chateau Pomeaux’s wines have received highly favorable commentary and ratings from leading wine journalists and publications, including Decanter magazine, Wine Spectator, and James Suckling.

BORDEAUX

Bordeaux est la plus grande et la plus importante région viticole de France. La plupart des œnologues et des critiques vinicoles s’accordent à dire que les vins de Bordeaux font partie des plus grands vins du monde.

Le climat, le sol, les cépages et l’excellente situation géographique de Bordeaux rassemblent les conditions idéales pour la production et la distribution de vins fins. Un ensoleillement généreux, des précipitations suffisantes mais modérées et la proximité avec l’océan Atlantique offrent un climat maritime très favorable à la région bordelaise. Sur la rive ouest, dite gauche, de la Garonne et de l’estuaire de la Gironde, là où les sols sont majoritairement calcaires et graveleux, le Cabernet Sauvignon est le cépage ascendant. La rive est, dite droite, aux sols majoritairement argilo-graveleux, est dominée par le Merlot Noir.

La région bordelaise est située au confluent de la Dordogne, de la Garonne et de leurs affluents. Ces voies navigables se conjuguent pour former l’estuaire de la Gironde qui se jette dans l’océan Atlantique ; elles facilitent le transport et la distribution des vins de Bordeaux en France et dans le monde.

La production de vin de Bordeaux remonte à la Rome Antique (1er siècle avant JC). Dans la région, à cette époque nommée Burdigala, les Romains cultivaient le raisin et produisaient du vin rouge. Deux millénaires ont passé et la production et l’exportation de vin s’est considérablement développée à Bordeaux. C’est au XIIe siècle après JC, lorsque Aliénor d’Aquitaine (nom sous lequel le Bordeaux actuel était alors connu) épouse le futur roi d’Angleterre, Henry Plantagenet, que le vin commence à être exporté. Au cours des siècles suivants, la ville de Bordeaux évolue, et devient un important exportateur de bons vins.

POMEROL

Située sur la rive est, dite droite, de la Garonne, Pomerol est une commune viticole d’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC). S’étendant sur une superficie d’environ trois kilomètres sur quatre, Pomerol est la plus petite des grandes régions viticoles de Bordeaux. Pomerol compte 800 hectares de vignes en culture, avec 140 producteurs déclarés réalisant une production combinée annuelle moyenne de 35 000 hectolitres. Les sols de Pomerol sont constitués d’un mélange de gravier, de sable et d’argile, avec en sous-sol des dépôts de fer connus sous le nom de crasse de fer. Ces conditions sont idéales pour la plantation et la culture de Merlot Noir, qui constitue 80% du raisin cultivé à Pomerol. Le reste des vignes de Pomerol est composé de Cabernet Franc et d’une petite minorité de Cabernet Sauvignon.

Les domaines de Pomerol ne produisent que du vin rouge. Les rendements de récolte sont limités à un maximum de 42 hectolitres par hectare (≈ 2,2 tonnes par acre), et les vins finis sont tenus de contenir un degré d’alcool minimum de 10,5%. Berceau de certains des vins les plus réputés et onéreux du monde, Pomerol est pour beaucoup considéré comme étant la plus prestigieuse des appellations bordelaises. Les vins de Pomerol se caractérisent par leur couleur profonde, leur texture veloutée et leurs arômes concentrés de prune mûre. Ils ne présentent pas non plus l’acidité élevée et les tanins typiques que l’on retrouve fréquemment dans les vins de Bordeaux. Les vins de Pomerol présentent souvent des notes de truffe, de chocolat, de cèdre, de noix grillées, d’épices et de raisins secs.

CHÂTEAU POMEAUX

Profitant d’une situation d’exception dans la région de Pomerol, le domaine viticole mondialement réputé se compose d’un magnifique château et de plus de 2,2 hectares de vignobles. Les vignes de Châteaux Pomeaux sont exclusivement composées de pieds de Merlot noir, d’une moyenne d’âge de 45 ans. Les sols de Château Pomeaux se composent de gravier, d’argile et de sable ferrugineux avec du fer et de l’argile en sous-sol. Les vignobles du Château Pomeaux sont entretenus de manière méticuleuse. La cave du château a recours à une combinaison unique de vinification traditionnelle et d’équipements modernes, et ses vins sont vinifiés et élevés de manière à atteindre une qualité exceptionnelle.

Le domaine de Château Pomeaux est établi à la lisière des terres de Saint Emilion, sur le coteau sud-est du plateau de Pomerol. Son voisinage compte certaines des propriétés viticoles les plus réputées de la planète, telles que Château Petrus à 2km, Château Le Pin et Vieux Château Certan à 1km,  Château Cheval Blanc et Château Figeac à 500m à peine.

Chez Château Pomeaux, la quête de la qualité commence dans les vignobles. Les vignes de Châteaux Pomeaux sont exclusivement composées de pieds de Merlot Noir. Ces dernières sont traitées selon des pratiques rigoureuses de taille en double guyot et de vendanges vertes, tardives et manuelles permettant d’assurer une maturité optimale et la sélection minutieuse du raisin. Depuis plus de deux décennies, les raisins et les vins du Château Pomeaux sont cultivés et produits en biodynamie et en agriculture biologique. Le château a fait le choix de ne sélectionner que les meilleurs raisins, ceci dans le but de garantir un vin d’excellente qualité.

Bien que les rendements de récolte autorisés à Pomerol soient de 42 hectolitres par hectare, le rendement maximum des terres du Château Pomeaux est strictement contrôlé à une moyenne de seulement 30 hectolitres par hectare.

La cave du château a recours à une combinaison unique de vinification traditionnelle et d’équipements modernes. Une fois les raisins récoltés, ils sont soigneusement triés, égrappés et rigoureusement sélectionnés. Les fruits sélectionnés pour l’élaboration des vins Château Pomeaux sont ensuite soumis à une macération et à une fermentation à température contrôlée dans de grandes cuves de chêne, à de longues périodes de fermentation malolactique en petits fûts de chêne neufs, à une vinification scrupuleuse et à un vieillissement prolongé en fûts de chêne neufs.

Du mariage d’un terroir d’exception avec le choix du propriétaire de prioriser la qualité sur la quantité, nait un vin de caractère bénéficiant d’une élégance suprême.

Château Pomeaux produit des vins prodigieusement riches et charpentés, jouissant d’un équilibre élégant et d’un bouquet délicat. Les vins Château Pomeaux sont puissants et riches, débordant de saveurs de cerise noire et de prune. Ils développent au fil du temps des notes de truffe, de chocolat et de cèdre. Ils peuvent être agréablement consommés lorsqu’ils sont jeunes, et un vieillissement prolongé leur sera bénéfique. Les vins du Château Pomeaux sont régulièrement encensés par les critiques vinicoles internationaux, tels que les commentaires de James Suckling dans le magazine américain le Wine Spectator ou encore le magazine Decanter.